Databases

Art Databases and Encyclopedias

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) & Répertoire international de la littérature de l'art (RILA)

Database of art history publication citations from the Getty Research Institute covering material published from 1975-2007.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

Access to more than 8,000 Reference ebooks covering biographies and titles in the humanities and sciences.

Getty Research Portal

Provides open access to digitized and downloadable public domain art history texts, rare books, and auction sales catalogs made available by participating art institutions.

Oxford Art Online

Contains more than 23,000 subject entries, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 bibliographic citations, 40,000 image links and 6,000 art images. License restricts usage to 5 simultaneous users.

Underground & Independent Comics, Comix, & Graphic Novels

Scholarly, primary-source database focused on adult comic books and graphic novels. Works by both celebrated and overlooked artists are included with interviews, criticism, and journal articles that document the continual growth and evolution of this art form. The current release contains 500 comic series and 2,271 comic books.

Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Premier

This interdisciplinary database contains indexing and abstracts for over 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles.

Biography in Context (Gale)

Over 650,000 biographical entries on historically significant figures, including thousands of performing and fine artists.

JSTOR

Contains content from journals and monographs from across the Humanities and Social Sciences. JSTOR does not include items published within the last 3-5 years.

Project Muse

Contains over 200,000 articles and 540,000 chapters on the Humanities and Social Sciences.