Journals and Databases (Articles)
Articles
Chicano Database (Ebsco)
Chicano Database is produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at U Berkeley. It indexes over 2,400 journals, newspapers, and other resources on Latinx cultures and issues. 1967-present; updated quarterly.
Aztlan: A Journal of Chicano Studies
An interdisciplinary, refereed journal, Aztlán focuses on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, and seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.
Latino Studies (Journal)
Latino Studies is an international, interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal aimed at advancing Latino/a scholarship, research, and dialogue.
Journal of Latinos and Education
The Journal of Latinos and Education (JLE) provides a cross-, multi-, and interdisciplinary forum for scholars and writers from diverse disciplines who share a common interest in the analysis, discussion, critique, and dissemination of educational issues that impact Latinos.
Journal of Latina/o Psychology
The Journal of Latina/o Psychology publishes scholarly writing on research, practice, advocacy, education, and policy relevant to Latino communities.
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures
Chiricú Journal: Latina/o Literatures, Arts, and Cultures is a peer-reviewed humanities journal that provides a critical as well as creative space for Latina/o scholarship and cultural expression.
Academic Search Premier
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines that includes over 8,000 journals.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Ethnic NewsWatch is aninterdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press.
GenderWatch
GenderWatch covers historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgendered community, and gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, NGO, government and special reports from the 1970s to present.
Latin American Women Writers
Includes prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America.
Latino Literature
Includes poetry, fiction, and plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States. Also includes never been published materials and Chicano folk tales.
Databases in Other Disciplines
America: History and Life
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Digital Dissertations
Access to full text dissertations and theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities from 1997 to present.
ERIC
ERIC is an Education database that indexes over 1,000 journals, research reports, technical reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, and dissertations.
SocAbs (Sociological Abstracts)
Includes full text journal articles and book reviews, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Historical Newspapers
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 – 1980
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 – 1980 offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures. Newspapers are bilingual and include many long scattered and forgotten titles published from the 19th century to present.
California Digital Newspaper Collection
This collection contains 55,935 issues from 1846 to present.
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1985)
Includes indexing and full text content of theLos Angeles Timesfrom 1881 through 1984.
New York Times Historical (1851-2002)
The full text of theNew York Timesfrom its first issue in 1851 to 2002.
Newspaper Archive
Newspaper Archiveincludes more than 3,000 foreign, national and local newspapers that date back as far as the 1790’s.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.
Ventura County Museum & Library – Research Library Collections
The Library Collection includes over 140,000 items relating to Ventura County history. The Research Library is open to the public, however, the materials do not circulate.
```
100 E. Main St., Ventura, CA 93001
805.653-0323
```