Databases
Music
Academic Search
Academic Search Premier contains indexing and abstracts for more than 8,300 journals, with full text for more than 4,500 of those titles. This database contains coverage across the disciplines including biology, chemistry, engineering, physics, psychology, history, religion & theology, and many more.
America: History and Life
"America: History and Life is the definitive index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from as far back as 1910, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history." This database is helpful for American music history searches.
Classical Music Library
"Classical Music Library is the world's largest multi-label database of Classical music recordings for listening and learning in libraries. This ever growing collection includes recordings from the world's greatest labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera."
Emerald
"Founded in 1967 as an offshoot of the University of Bradford, Emerald Group Publishing has become the world’s leading scholarly publisher of journals and books in business and management with a strong and growing presence in disciplines including LIS, social sciences, engineering, linguistics and audiology."
ERIC
"ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. ERIC provides ready access to education literature to support the use of educational research and information to improve practice in learning, teaching, educational decision-making, and research."
JSTOR
JSTOR offers a high-quality, interdisciplinary archive to support scholarship and teaching. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work. JSTOR is a historical archive and does not include items published within the last 3-5 years.
Oxford Music Online
"Oxford Music Online is the gateway offering users the ability to access and cross-search multiple music reference resources in one location. With Grove Music Online as its cornerstone, Oxford Music Online also contains The Oxford Companion to Music (2002), which offers more than 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works; and The Oxford Dictionary of Music, 2nd edition (revised 2006), which supplements Grove's more extensive articles with content geared toward undergraduates and general users."
Project Muse
"Project MUSE is a unique collaboration between libraries and publishers, providing 100% full-text, affordable and user-friendly online access to a comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities and social sciences journals. MUSE's online journal collections support a diverse array of research needs at academic, public, special and school libraries worldwide. Our journals are heavily indexed and peer-reviewed, with critically acclaimed articles by the most respected scholars in their fields. MUSE is also the sole source of complete, full-text versions of titles from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies. Currently, MUSE provides full-text access to current content from over 400 titles representing nearly 100 not-for-profit publishers."
Newspapers
These are the newspaper databases available through the John Spoor Broome Library that contain current news.
Historical Newspapers
Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1994)
Includes indexing and full text content of the Los Angeles Times from 1881 through 1994.
New York Times Historical (1851-2015)
The full text of the New York Times from its first issue in 1851 to 2015.
Newspaper Archive
Newspaper Archive includes more than 3,000 foreign, national and local newspapers that date back as far as the 1790’s.
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876
Contains 66 newspaper titles from 22 Caribbean islands published between 1718-1876.
Early American Newspapers
Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 1690-1876 offers 350,000 fully searchable issues from over 710 historical American newspapers. Focusing largely on the 18th and early 19th centuries.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries.
Latin American Newspapers Series I 1805-1922
Searchable newspapers from Latin America published between 1805-1922.
Latin American Newspapers Series 2 1822-1922
Searchable newspapers from Latin America published between 1822-1922.